Packing is the hardest part.

Textbooks

Observe, please, the stack of textbooks I am supposed to be bringing with me.  Apparently these books are not available in Beijing in English, and so for our classes we are expected to bring them with us.  This is an average for 5 books per class, which I fear will fill up my entire carry on, as I don’t want to waste the precious weight allotment for my suitcases.  Getting them out there may not be so difficult, but getting them back is where I foresee infinite irritation.  After four month of living in China, you best believe I will have racked up my fill of mementos, and will be less willing to part with this very limited space that I have to again fill with books.  Leave them there, you say?  Perhaps, except that 16 textbooks, even purchased off amazon, amount to a chunk of change that I am loathe to part with without compensation.  We shall see, dear followers, we shall see.

As for the rest of the packing, it has not even begun outside of my wise purchase of “space bags”, those as-seen-on-TV beauties which you can suck the air out of to conserve space.  Weight, not so much.  I feel I will have to fork over another Benjamin just to be allowed on the plane.  How I will cart my stuff around Beijing is another question entirely.  And for me, a relatively light and simple packer, at least for a female, being so burdened will also cause infinite annoyance.  But adequate space must be allotted for previously mentioned mementos.  Look out, China, here I come.

6 Days

One Response to “Packing is the hardest part.”

  1. China is a combination of old an new.
    I am sure you will enjoy your Beijing experience.
    Good luck.

Leave a Reply

