My Ode to Starbucks

Oh Starbucks, we’ve had such a tumultuous relationship.
I haven’t given you the respect you deserve.
I used to avoid you because of the appeal of locally owned, organic alternatives.
I used to scorn you.
But things will be different now, I promise.
Never again will I look down upon you.
When I was lost in a country whose language I could not speak, and who’s endless tea I could not stomach, you were the only one there for me.
The smell of your coffee, perfume.
The taste, the taste.
Sweet ambrosia, nectar of my life.
The mornings we spent together were magical.
Toffee nut latte.
Dark cherry mocha.
Coffee.
I don’t care if no native on this continent has been “eagerly awaiting” your holiday flavors as you so hopefully proclaim.
I have.
Oh, Starbucks, I will never forget the kindness you have shown me on my journey.
I love you, Starbucks, and I don’t care who knows it.

4 Responses to “My Ode to Starbucks”

  1. Aunt Cecelia Says:

    Ah, wonderful coffee! You will need to try the holiday/Christmas blend when you return — it is delicious. When you can, check out your email account on mongolianyak, because earlier in the fall I wrote to you of Grandma Phyllis and her desire to go to China. I see many parallels in the two of you! Have a great trip and see you soon. Love, Aunt Cecelia and Uncle Nick

    • jenniferautumn Says:

      My internet is very limited but I wanted to take a quick second to tell you that I did receive your email about Phyllis and greatly appreciated it! I just haven’t had a chance to respond until just now, and in five minutes I’m off to the airport again – it’s a crazy week! Thank you so much for taking the time to write that for me, I haven’t heard much about her before so it’s very interesting to hear it!

  2. HA! Erin will enjoy this blog, I’m laughing hysterically ;-D ! You poor soul, you go on a far off adventure and come back with on ‘Ode to Starbucks’, your family is planning your homecoming zealously!

    Please take lots of pictures of your vacation, you are going places I may never go and I would love to visit vicariously! You have done well, and will continue to do so, live life to its fullest and have a grand final adventure!

    Love from your fan club!!

  3. Hi, I was in China last year for about 5 months as an English teacher and it’s funny because in the States, I NEVER would go to Starbucks, but in China where it’s often Starbucks or instant coffee, well let’s just say that you know as well as I know that there are many things that you would do in China that you would never do back home.

Leave a Reply

